It was a high voltage game of 90 minutes that was decided by seven tense spot kicks, Gor Mahia goalkeeper Gad Mathews the hero of the afternoon after parrying away AFC Leopards’ first two penalties.

Gad Mathews saved two of the three penalties by AFC Leopards to hand Gor Mahia the FKF Betway Cup. In picture with Mathews is AFC Leopards captain Isaac Kipyegon reacting to his penalty miss. PHOTO/SCREENGRAB

After both teams progressed to the finals on post match penalties, the rivalry between AFC Leopards and Gor Mahia was bound to have a familiar twist of post-match shootouts.

Just four minutes into affair at the Nyayo National Stadium, Elvis Rupia blasted the woodwork in what turned out to be the highlight of the first half.

AFC Leopards striker Elvis Rupia blasted the woodwork just four minutes in, with Gor’s Gad Mathews well beaten between the sticks. PHOTO/SCREENGRAB

After the intermission, AFC Leopards had their penalty appeal turned down after Rupia went down in the box under a challenge from Gor Mahia defender Harun Shakava.

Elvis Rupia went down in the box under a challenge from Gor Mahia defender Harun Shakava with refree Peter Waweru turning down Ingwe’s penalty appeal. PHOTO/SCREENGRAB

Centre referee Peter Waweru called for penalties after a barren stalemate in regulation time.

Captain Isaac Kipyegon and Said Tsuma missed the first two spot kicks for Ingwe as Gor Mahia’s Sydney Ochieng, Kenneth Muguna, Clifton Miheso and Samuel Onyango coolly converted to win 4-1, despite Ingwe head coach Patrick Assumes calling on his penalty trump card of goalkeeper Ezekiel Owade just seconds to the final whistle.

Gor Mahia’s Samuel Onyango beats AFC Leopards goalkeeping trump card of Ezekiel Owade to convert the fourth and winning spot kick. PHOTO/SCREENGRAB

Gor Mahia who avenge for their 2013 GOTV shield cup 1-0 final loss against AFC Leopards seal a return to the CAF Confederation Cup along with 2 million shillings cash prize.

Gor Mahia dispatched archrivals AFC Leopards 4-1 on post-match penalties to win the FKF Betway Cup after a barren draw in regulation time. PHOTO/SCREENGRAB

Ingwe who are the most successful club in the competition having won the competition 10 times, walk away with one million shillings.

Earlier at the same venue, Bidco United dispatched Division One side Equity FC in the third place playoff following their 1-0 triumph.

AFC Leopards head coach Patrick Aussems (R) with captain Isaac Kipyegon. PHOTO/SCREENGRAB

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.